sometimes katie looks back at old pictures [flashback to engagement]…

Today I was looking on Pinterest for ideas for my 30th birthday party (flashback to 1984), and I started looking at my old boards/pins. I saw my “Polka Dot Wedding” board, and some of the inspirations for engagement pictures were on there. That prompted me to get into my photos and look back at my own engagement pictures. I had such a good time reminiscing, that I thought I’d pick my favorites and share them with you all. Thanks to Kayleen Huffman Photography for taking these pictures. Kayleen used to work with Joel, and has become a great friend to both of us. She also took some amazing wedding pictures, that I will get to posting someday!

The shoot took place in the beautiful city of Coeur d’ Alene, ID, which is about a 30-60 minute drive to Spokane, WA (depending on where you’re coming from). Joel and Kayleen used to work out there, and Kayleen lived in the area, so she had some good ideas. There’s an amazing resort and lake out there, which made for some breathtaking backdrops. It was April, and a sunny day, but still a little chilly outside.

Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

These shots were out on the dock, and there were moments where it just felt like we were the only two people out there.Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

This was probably my favorite. When I look at it, my heart flutters a little because I can see and feel how much he’s always loved me.

Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

We used this shot in the newspaper to announce our engagement.

Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

Here’s Joel just being himself, I think he looks so cute here. (P.S. the colors of those tulips were AMAZING)

Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

We started walking along the path called “Tubbs Hill,” which is a beautiful trail for hiking. In the summer people jump off various parts of it into the lake.

Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

Here’s where I started to feel self-conscious, because people were walking by and looking at us.

Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

I really wanted to find some flowers that looked like wildflowers, like we found them along our hike. This bunch was the closest I found. I think they worked.

Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

The shot above was pretty cool – when she sent it to us, she had our names and the date of our wedding written on there faintly.

Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

I went ahead and found it so you can see how creative this girl is! (If you’re in Spokane/Coeur d’ Alene — LOOK HER UP!)

Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography
Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

We did an outfit change, and then walked downtown for some shots. This one’s in front of a cute little candy shop called “Mrs. Honeypeeps Sweet Shop.” And my fiance here (now husband) looks daaaaang handsome here. *swoon*

Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

So we did another mini-clothing change here, because I wanted a couple of our shots to have our wedding colors in them (black and white polka dots with turquoise).

Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

We changed into some “dressier clothes” for a few shots, and I liked this one. Still downtown CDA.

Copyright 2012 by Kayleen Huffman Photography

And last (but certainly not least), my FAVORITE shot. When I was looking up inspiration for engagement pictures, I googled different things, and when I saw something I liked, I pinned it on Pinterest to my board (again, called “My Polka Dot Wedding!”) This image was found here on Flickr by Crystal Franks, called “Umbrella Kiss” (Kayleen nailed it). I found the umbrella on eBay (you’d think there would be more polka dot umbrellas around, but I couldn’t find one anywhere!) Funny thing is, the polka dots are hearts. I was worried it would show in the picture, but you can’t tell at all.

Umbrella Kiss by Crystal Franks

There you have it! I’ve been meaning to get to various wedding posts, and this starts it all off. Definitely more to come, people!

Hope everyone had a wonderful, love-filled Valentine’s Day! ❤dr suess quote

Leave a Reply

